About the Gaylactic Spectrum Awards


2021 Awards

2020 Awards

2019 Awards

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2014/2015 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2010 Awards

2009 Awards

2008 Awards

2007 Awards

2006 Awards

2005 Awards

2004 Awards

2003 Awards

2002 Awards

2001 Awards

2000 Awards

1999 Awards

Official Rules, Regulations,
& Procedures

Contact Us


The Winners and Recommended Short List for the 2019 Gaylactic Spectrum Awards in the Best Novel category were announced at Gaylaxicon 2019 in October 2019.

A handout listing the winner, short list recommendations, ISBN numbers, publishers, and a short writeup of each winner/short list item for the Best Novel category is available here.

2019 Best Novel - Winner and Recommended Short List

2019 Best Novel - Other Nominees List
2019 Best Short Fiction (rolled over to future cycle)
2019 Best Other Work (rolled over to future cycle)

2019 Best Novel Winner & Short List

Point of Sighs - Melissa Scott (Lethe Press)

American Hippo - Sarah Gailey (Tor.com)
Armistice - Lara Elena Donnelly (Tor Books)
Balefire - Jordan L. Hawk (CreateSpace)
Finders - Melissa Scott (Candlemark & Gleam)
Five Planes: The Rule of Five Season 1 - Melissa Scott & Don Sakers (Speed-of-C)
Harkworth Hall / Leviathan - L.S. Johnson (Traversing Z)
Stone Mad - Elizabeth Bear (Tor.com)
A Study in Honor - Claire O'Dell (Harper Voyager)


2019 Best Novel Other Nominees

Best Novel consideration is given to individual novel length works by a single author/authorial team. Works must have been originally published in North America in 2018 to be eligible unless an exception was granted by the judging team.

The following titles were reviewed to validate their eligibility for award consideration and were considered by the judging team. Appearance on this list is not an indication of quality or quantity of LGBTQIA+ or genre content, however many of the titles in the list of other nominations contain significant positive LGBTQIA+ content and would be of interest to readers.

The Black God's Drums by P. Djeli Clark (Tor.com)
Cleaning House by Jeanne G'Fellers (Mountain Gap Books)
Kip's Monster by Harper Fox (FoxTales Publications)
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Pirates by Mackenzi Lee (Katherine Tegen Books)

2019 Best Short Fiction Nominees

The Best Short Fiction category, recognizing individual shorter length works by a single author/authorial team, is being rolled over to a future Awards cycle.

2019 Best Other Work Nominees

The Best Other Work category, recognizing any works that do not fit into the Novel and Short Fiction categories (this includes but is not limited to anthologies, graphic novels, comics, games, and movies/television shows), is being rolled over to a future Awards cycle.