About the Gaylactic Spectrum Awards


2021 Awards

2020 Awards

2019 Awards

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2014/2015 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2010 Awards

2009 Awards

2008 Awards

2007 Awards

2006 Awards

2005 Awards

2004 Awards

2003 Awards

2002 Awards

2001 Awards

2000 Awards

1999 Awards

Official Rules, Regulations,
& Procedures

Contact Us


2001 Best Novel Finalists
2001 Best Other Work Finalists
2001 Hall of Fame Finalists
2001 All Works Receiving Nominations

2001 People's Choice Award

Awarded to the single work in any category receiving the most nominations from members of the Gaylactic Network.

WINNER: Buffy the Vampire Slayer by Joss Whedon / Fox Television

2001 Best Novel Finalists

Awarded to the best science fiction, fantasy or horror novel originally released during 2000.

The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon (Random House)
The Chosen by Ricardo Pinto (Tor)
A Face Without A Heart by Rick Reed (Design Image Group)
The Jazz by Melissa Scott (Tor)
Jumping Off The Planet by David Gerrold (Tor)
Kirith Kirin by Jim Grimsley (Meisha Merlin)
Teranesia by Greg Egan (HarperCollins/EOS)

WINNER: Jumping Off the Planet by David Gerrold

2001 Best Other Work Finalists

The best science fiction, fantasy or horror work released in any other medium during 2000. This includes comic books, movies, television episodes, multimedia, gaming products, artwork, music or other.

The Authority: Under New Management (comic)(DC Comics)
Buffy The Vampire Slayer (television series) (WB/Fox/Joss Whedon)
A Distant Soil (comic) by Colleen Doran (Image)
Oracle (short story) by Greg Egan (Asimov's - July 2000)
Queer Fear (anthology) edited by Michael Rowe (Arsenal Pulp Press)

WINNER: Buffy the Vampire Slayer by Joss Whedon / Fox Television

2001 Hall of Fame Finalists

Any science fiction, fantasy or horror work in any format released prior to 1998.

The "Blood" Books by Tanya Huff (DAW)
The "Darkover" Books by Marion Zimmer Bradley (DAW)
Imperial Earth by Sir Arthur C. Clarke (Orion)
The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K Le Guin (Ace)
The Sparrow/Children of God by Mary Doria Russell (Fawcett)
The "Weetzie Bat" Books (collected as Dangerous Angels) by Francesca Lia Block (Harpercollins)

WINNER (tie): Imperial Earth by Arthur C. Clarke
WINNER (tie): The Sparrow / Children of God by Mary Doria Russell
WINNER (tie): The "Weetzie Bat" Books (collected as Dangerous Angels) by Francesca Lia Block

2001 Complete List of Nominees

A listing of all works receiving nominations during the 2001 award nominations period who were not named as finalists.

Best Novel

Angel Lust by Perry Brass
Brain Plague by Joan Slonczewski
Burn by Jonathan Lyons
Crown of Silence by Storm Constantine
A Density of Souls by Christopher Rice
Feast of the King's Shadow by Chaz Brenchley
The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett
The Keep of Fire by Mark Anthony
Merrick by Anne Rice
The Midnight Robber by Nalo Hopkinson
Plastic Jesus by Poppy Z Brite
Resisting Adonis by Timothy Anderson
Sex Rites by Brandon Fox
Tales of Emoria: Past Echoes by Mindancer
The Truth by Terry Pratchett

Best Other Work

Alternate Channels by Stephen Capsuto
The Bortherhood by David DeCoteau
Chuck and Buck (movie)
Dark Angel (tv series)
The Forest Between the Worlds (short story) by G David Nordley
queernation.com (online comic) by Chris Cooper
Radiant Green Star (short story) by Lucius Shepard
Separation Anxiety (short story) by Evie Shockley
Slow Engines of Time (collection) by Elisabeth Vonarburg
Strangers in Paradise (comic) by Terry Moore
Tales of Pain and Wonder (collection) by Caitlin Kiernan
Traditional Family Vampires by Bob Poirier
The Tragedy of King Alexander the Stag (short story) by Delia Sherman
The X-Files (tv series)
Welcome to Paradox (tv series)

Hall of Fame

Daughters of Darkness by Pam Keesey
Death's Head by Mel Keegan
Dhalgren by Samuel R Delany
Dryland's End by Felice Picano
Ed Wood by Tim Burton
The "Gaia" Series by John Varley
The "Harmonies of the Net" Series by Jane Fancher
Interview With a Vampire by Anne Rice
Larkinstreet's Luck by Sedan Elgar Jr
The Last Herald Mage (series) by Mercedes Lackey
The "Loon" Series by Richard Amory
The Man Who Folded Himself by David Gerrold
The Merro Tree by Katie Waitman
The "Nightrunner" Series by Lynn Flewelling
Status Quotient by Ralph Sperry
The Tale of the Five Series by Diane Duane
Through A Brazen Mirror by Delia Sherman
The Twilight Zone: Eye of the Beholder
Wired Hard ed by Cecilia Tan
The Wraeththu Series by Storm Constantine