About the Gaylactic Spectrum Awards


2021 Awards

2020 Awards

2019 Awards

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2014/2015 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2010 Awards

2009 Awards

2008 Awards

2007 Awards

2006 Awards

2005 Awards

2004 Awards

2003 Awards

2002 Awards

2001 Awards

2000 Awards

1999 Awards

Official Rules, Regulations,
& Procedures

Contact Us


The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards were created in 1998 by the Gaylactic Network to honor works in science fiction, fantasy and horror which include positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered characters, themes, or issues. In 2002, the Awards were handed over to a newly formed, independent organization - the Gaylactic Spectrum Awards Foundation.

The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards are juried with an open nomination process and are presented in a variety of categories each year, for works released in the previous calendar year eligible for consideration. The judges also may accept nominations of works from further back if those works were somehow missed in their original eligibility period. Awards are given in the Best Novel category each year, and sometimes given in additional categories such as Best Short Fiction and Best Other Work. In addition, each year a small number of works originally released prior to the creation of the Gaylactic Spectrum Awards may be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Winners and a Short List of Recommended Works for the 2019 Awards have been announced for the Best Novel category. Winners, Short List Recommendations, and all Nominees for 2018 and previous years can be viewed on the special page for each year (see the links on the left).

Judges are currently reading nominated works for the 2020 Awards which were delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic. The 2020 Awards will include a Best Novel category and will recognize works published in 2019 or for a few exceptions works published prior to 2019. The 2020 Award Winner(s) and a Recommended Works Short List will be announced at or in conjunction with the World Science Fiction Convention in December 2021 in Washington DC - Discon III

Nominations for the 2021 Awards for Best Novel, Best Short Fiction and Best Other Works are being accepted until May 31, 2021. The 2021 Awards are for works first published in North America in 2020.

If you have any questions about the Awards, please let us know!